

<u>NEWCASTLE-UNDER_LYME BOROUGH COUNCIL</u>

<u>REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT TEAM</u> <u>TO COUNCIL</u>

23 November, 2022

APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN FOR NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME

Submitted by: Mayor's Secretary

Portfolio: One Council, People and Partnerships

In accordance with the Council's decision on 4 June 2014 to adopt the principle of appointing Honorary Aldermen, the Mayor has called a Special Meeting of the Council to consider making such appointments.

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 enables Council's to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past elected members. Thus, the title can only be conferred upon past members of the Council who are not councillors at the date of the meeting.

The Council's constitution in this matter is worded as follows:-

"That an Honorary <mark>Alderman shall at least:-</mark>

- a) Not be a serving Member of the Council.
- b) Be a person of distinction who has rendered eminent services to the Council and the community.
- c) Have served a period of not less than 12 years on the Council which may be continuous or discontinuous.
- d) Ordinarily have held a substantive office on the Council such as Mayor, Committee Chair, Group Leader, or Cabinet Member"



Criteria (d) above allows the flexibility to confer the title of Honorary Alderman for a former member who has either not served a full 12 years, or served for a substantial period, but not in a role of special responsibility, but none the less have rendered eminent services to the Council and the community.

Any decision to confer the title of Honorary Alderman must be made by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at a special meeting of the Council.

Honorary Alderman are entitled to attend civic occasions as the Council may from time to time decide. They do not have any specific right to participate in the ordinary business of the Council.

The Council is now invited to consider appointing further Honorary Aldermen for Newcastle-under-Lyme by passing the following resolutions:-

Marion Reddish

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Marion Reddish be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for a period of 18 years between 2002 and 2016 and 2002 to 2022 including as a former Mayor in 2009/10, Group Leader for the Liberal Democrats and Cabinet Member.

Mark Olszewskí

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mark Olszewski be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of his duties as a member of the Borough Council for 14 years between 2004 and 2008, 2010 and 2014 and 2016 and 2022 including the role as Chair of two committees.



Kyle Robinson-Payne

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Kyle Robinson-Payne be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of his duties as a member of the Borough Council for 12 years between 2010 and 2022 and as Labour Group Leader and Cabinet Member.

<u>Julie Cooper</u>

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Julie Cooper be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for 16 years between 2006 and 2022 and as Chair and Vice-Chair of various Committees.

Elizabeth Shenton

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Elizabeth Shenton be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for 16 years between 2006 and 2022 and as Labour Group Leader, Cabinet Member and as Leader of the Council between 2015 and 2017.

<u>Sílvía Burgess</u>

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Silvia Burgess be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through



performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for 12 years between 2007 and 2011, 2012 and 2016 and 2018 and 2022 and as a Vice-Chair of a Scrutiny Committee

June Walklate

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 June Walklate be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for 35 years between 1987 and 2022 and as a member of many committees

<u>Sandra Simpson</u>

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Sandra Simpson be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for 13 years between 2004 and 2006 and 2007 and 2018 and as a member of many committees.

<u> Mary Maxfield</u>

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mary Maxfield be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for 11 years between 1999 and 2010 and as a Cabinet Member between 2002-2004 and again between 2006-2010. Ms Maxfield was also a member of many committees.



Tony Kearon

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Tony Kearon be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of his duties as a member of the Borough Council for 11 years between 2011 and 2022 and as Labour Group leader.

<u>Derrick Huckfield</u>

Derrick Huckfield was appointed as an Honorary Alderman on 5 September, 2018. This status was temporarily suspended between 25 November, 2021 and 5 May, 2022 when he returned to serve as a Borough Councillor. Following the elections held in May, 2022, Alderman status was automatically returned to Mr Huckfield.

Ceremony for new Honorary Aldermen

Newly appointed Honorary Alderman will be invited to a special ceremony in the Spring of 2023, the Borough's 850th anniversary year.





